Buy Album

Play Songs

Artist Login
« Note to fans | Main

Debut Album 'Dirt Drenched Soul' Out Now!

Olivia Pipitone’s debut album, Dirt Drenched Soul, will be launched at the Sound Lounge in the Seymour Centre, Chippendale, on Thursday 18 February 2010.

The album was recorded live in analogue with a hand picked band of Sydney’s leading jazz and blues musicians who are guitarist Aaron Flower (National Jazz Award Winner 2007), pianist/organist Jerry Craib, bassist James Haselwood and drummer Cameron Reid.

It features a gutsy selection of tunes spanning jazz, blues, soul and even country, from the rare soul of A Love That Never Grows Cold to much-loved jazz standard St Louis Blues.

Olivia harnesses the songs for her own needs. With her big, heart-soaked voice and the palpable personality and commitment of her band, the result is an album of pure soul music and a powerful expression of strength, sass, passion and lyrical tenderness.

“Olivia sings with a rare authenticity,” said Steve Hunter.

At the launch, Olivia will sing tracks from her album including:

  • A Love That Never Grows Cold – Jimmy & Louise Tig
  • Buck – Nina Simone
  • I Love You More Than You'll Ever Know – Donny Hathaway        
  • St. Louis Blues – Ella Fitzgerald
  • Drown In My Own Tears – Ray Charles        
  • Simple Twist Of Fate – Bob Dylan
  • Six Days On The Road – Taj Mahal

Performing on the night will be Aaron Flower – guitar, Sam Boyd – keys, Tim Curnick – bass and Cameron Reid – drums.

Tickets for the launch are on sale now. Visit or phone the box office on 9351 7940.

Dirt Drenched Soul is out now at Birdland Records and will be available on iTunes and at CDBaby from March 2010.

Media Contact: Michelle Wood 0466 655 115

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>